Welcome Monica Leon

Please welcome the newest member of our staff–Monica Leon

 

As our new Youth Minister, Monica will lead the more than 300 Freshman and Sophomore teens who will be participating in the Confirmation program this year and the many more who will join in the American Martyrs Youth Ministry.  Here is a reprint of the message Monica included in last Sunday’s bulletin.

“For I know well the plans I have in mind for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare, not for woe! Plans to give you a future full of hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

As I sit in my new office I feel excitement and joy, along with wonderment and awe, at how God’s plan unfolds. There is a nervous energy that accompanies the excitement because after serving as Campus Minister and a Religious Studies teacher at Saint Joseph High School in Lakewood for seven years and leading the Life Teen Band at Holy Trinity in San Pedro for the last four years, I leave two very familiar places to begin a new journey here at American Martyrs as the new Youth Minister. I’ve heard wonderful things about the support and welcoming spirit of the community and I look forward to meeting all of you. Please be sure to introduce yourselves when you see me!

I would like to thank Monsignor Barry, Bob Hodges, Patti Williams, Camryn Connelly and Mary Coelho-Wood for the warm welcome and continued support.

TEENS!! Teen Tuesdays will continue very soon and a number of summer activities will be scheduled for the near future. I can’t wait to meet, teach, and learn from each of you. Be sure to listen for announcements about our first gathering!

Leave a Reply

